“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. So medicine, law, business, engineering… these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love… these are what we stay alive for.”

— Walt Whitman, Leaves of Grass

Time to let go

It’s day 20 of the A-to-Z Challenge and uh this one is a little sad.

The three randomly generated words for today are,

Tribute, Print and Express.

Let’s just get this over with.


If you’re not careful you can spend your whole life looking for what you’ve lost.

Moïra Fowley-Doyle, Spellbook of the Lost and Found

One minute it’s there and the next poof!

To think it would be safe, I’m a right goof!

This one is a tribute to what was lost.

To it let’s raise a glass. Prost!


The thing with close friends I would treasure,

The one thing that would have eased all our pressure.

Maybe it was not meant to be,

That we would treasure it that night by the sea.


Maybe I would have liked to keep it as a memory,

Maybe make use of it only when I wasn’t feeling like me.

Just maybe if I had read the fine print,

‘Things tend to disappear without a hint!’


For long I have searched for it since,

The thought that it was gone made me wince.

I fear it may have been taken,

My heart prays I am mistaken.


Now when I need it the most,

It see it nowhere close.

No amount of words can stress,

The amount of sadness I want to express.


The fact that I can get it elsewhere,

Is not something my mind doesn’t share.

Yet even though I know its time to let go,

Somehow fonder to it, I grow.

4 responses to “Time to let go”

  1. enchantedwords avatar
    enchantedwords

    Oh man I feel for you! So sorry you couldn’t enjoy your oreos:/

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The sadness is very sad 😔

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Next time matey, next time!

    Like

  3. […] joy but also a reminder that, that stage of their lives had given them all it could and that it was Time to Let Go. They all had their troubles and triumphs. Staying in the past, however splendid it was, would just […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started